Bird Sanctuary / Bridge Will Burn (2018)

On 14th March 2018, I turned 39 years old. Almost no-one in my life believes this. While the wrinkles around my eyes become a little more pronounced, and my hair continues it’s gradual evacuation from my head, it’s heartening to think that most people I know were surprised to learn I was heading towards 40.

I won’t lie. I began this year in something of a mid-life-crisis. Everything seemed to be coming to an end. Not a literal end, obviously, but some feeling of an end. I decided that 2018 would have to be crammed with as much activity as I could possibly manage: A new band, a new project, a new small business, new books, new songs, new blogs, new new new.

During February’s unfinished RPM challenge, I began several songs that didn’t quite fit the direction of the Spy Stories band, and this week, I finished two of them. What to do with them, though?

I decided that in the year between March 14th 2018 and March 14th 2019, I would try to write and record a single per month, and upload and release it to bandcamp. No pressure, no direction; just a fun collection of songs to stretch my songwriting muscles, or even a place to put songs that don’t fit with anything else I’m up to.

And so, with that, I introduce the first in this collection, a double-A side of sorts, Bird Sanctuary / Bridge Will Burn.

Somehow, last night, I wasn’t content to just release the music on bandcamp, but I had that creative itch and experimented a little with videos for each song.

Bird Sanctuary, I created under the creative umbrella of my new “Tiny Spies” project (more on that in a future post). I found a strange film teaching methods of typesetting and cut it to pieces and put it back together again. It’s a strange video, but one I really like.

And then we have the video for Bridge Will Burn, which is a very DIY production to say the least. I had created 2 or 3 takes of me playing with the Rickenbacker and it just felt like a dull performance video, so I recorded takes with another couple of guitars and used the bass-note walk-downs to switch between them. It’s a little rough but it does the trick.

Of course, I’m not going to have time to record videos for each of these 2018/19 singles but I’ll see what I can do when inspiration strikes.

For now, I hope you enjoy these two songs. I certainly had fun creating them. And thank you again to Aga Olek for the violin on Bird Sanctuary.

Radio Kampus. 28th February 2018

Back in the Radio Kampus studio after taking a month off for record-releasing/record writing responsibilities. Of course I recorded a couple of pre-records (and I’ll upload them out of sequence sometime soon) but here’s the show from last night, in studio with pop-culture journalist, Laura Studarus, on one of her many visits to Warsaw.

1. New People – Rain Talk

2. Autre Ne Veut – Play by Play

3. VLMV – All These Ghosts

4. Men I Trust – Tailwhip

5. Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert – Cockcrow (feat. Siobhan Wilson)

6. Beta Frontiers – If I Stayed ft. Carmen Elle

7. The Vaselines – Inky Lies

8. Tracyanne & Danny – Home & Dry

9. Superchunk – Erasure

10. The Zephyrs – Stargazer

11. Running In Slow Motion – Kinesis (Farewell)

RPM Challenge: Day 18

RPM Challenge: Day 17

RPM Challenge: Day 16